The Region of Decapolis

Map of the region of Decapolis the 10 city district revitalized by Rome in the land of Israel


The region of Decapolis for Little Kids

This map shows the region known as Decapolis in the land of ancient Israel.

The region of Decapolis was mentioned three times in the Bible. It contained ten cities that were rebuilt and given special treatment under the Roman Empire. The original 10 cities are believed to be Scythopolis, Hippos, Gadara, Philadelphia, Pella, Gerasa, Dion, Canatha, Damascus, and Raphana. Decapolis was a well populated region during ancient times, but there aren't many inhabitants there today.

Now you know where the ten city region of Decapolis is!

Geography and ancient cities are important to study as we learn from the Bible, let's pray:

Dear Jesus, thank you for the Bible and for giving us the ability to learn about history. Help us to trust and obey you more and more each day. And help us to remember the things we learn from your Word. In Jesus name... Amen!

Map of the ten city region of Decapolis in the nation of Israel
Map of the region of Decapolis

Kids' Bible Maps
Bible History Online

The Geography of the Bible

© Bible History Online (

Made by Network Local